Project Participation Request
One of the workflows available in the RDMS is the workflow to manage project participation requests. This workflow can either allow you to request participation in a project you are not currently a member of, or it can allow you to manage other users' participation requests to your own projects. In the screenshot below, you can see the main page of the workflow.
This workflow involves two roles:
- Requester: The person requesting participation in a project.
- Project Admin: The person granting or denying participation in a project.
As shown in the screenshots, requests in which your role is requester are displayed in blue, while requests in which your role is admin are displayed in white. You cannot modify blue requests once they are submitted, whereas you can accept or decline white requests.
The Project Admin Role
As a Project Admin, you are responsible for reviewing participation requests for your projects. Once a user has submitted a request to participate in a project you own, the RDMS will notify you of that request. The notification is sent via email, but is also visible in the web interface. To handle a project participation request, you can navigate to the workflow page shown above and find the request in the "Open" status. If you click on the three vertical dots (as shown in the figure below), you will have the option to either "Accept" or "Decline" the participation request. Once you have made your decision, the request status will change to either "Accepted" or "Declined" (see first figure).
If you accept the request, a new window will open. The RDMS then asks you to define which permission level to grant the requester. If required, you can also assign an additional role to the new project member at this stage (see archiving workflow for the meaning of each role). Click on "Add User Permission" to confirm your choices and allow access to the project. Both permissions and roles can be adjusted at a later date from the project management tab, should you decide to change them.
Once you have made your choice, the RDMS will notify the Requester of the outcome.
To allow renewed submission of a request, you need to close it, as this will allow the Requester to submit a new request if necessary. See the figure below for instructions on how to close the request.
Once a request has been closed, you can reopen it at any time by clicking on the three vertical dots and selecting "Reopen".
Note: Reopening a request does not undo any decisions already made. So if you reopen a request that you accepted in the past, the request will still have the same access after reopening it. If you want to remove the participant from a project or change their role in the project, you can use the project management function in the Data Management Tab.
The Requester Role
To start a project participation request, click on the options wheel icon in the top-right corner and select "Request project participation", as shown in the figure below.
A new window will open, displaying a list of available projects for this workflow, along with a search bar at the top. Find the project you want to request access to, then click on "Request".
Note: If the project you want to participate in does not appear in the list and cannot be found using the search bar, then one of the following situations applies:
- You are already a member of that project.
- Your previous request was declined, and the Project Admin has not closed it yet.
If you are experiencing this issue, please contact the admin of the project and ask them to either "Reopen" or "Close" your request. If they close the request, then you can submit a new one. If they reopen the request, it becomes active again, and all you have to do is wait for their decision.
Once your request has been submitted, the admin of the project will be notified. Your request will appear in blue under the "Open" status column. At this stage, all you need to do is wait for the decision of the Project Admin. Once they have made a choice, your request will be updated to either "Accepted" or "Declined", and you will be notified both through the web interface and via email. If your request is accepted, then you will gain access to the project with the permissions and role assigned to you by the Project Admin. Please refer to the previous screenshots for a graphical representation of your request.






