Initializing a VRE

First; The applicant must be a staff member of the UG. The application procedure will start with filling in the application form. The information will be registered in Topdesk and we will contact the applicant for an intake. Mostly we will create an online Google Meet for about 30 minutes to do the intake.

During the intake we will discuss whether the VRE is the right solution for this research project and what facilities -like storage, applications and computational power- is needed. Also we will discuss on how the data transfer to the VRE can be arranged.

The other information that we need for creating the VRE, like the start date and end date, the project code for finance and the names of the researchers can be already filled in in the application form.

After gathering all this information we will create the VRE and notify the applicant.

The VRE will be monitored for activity. Upon activation of a VRE, it is actively checked whether an account is still being used. Please refer to our section for First time users on how to start working within the VRE

Personal data and Home drive

No Activity Account Data
After 3 Months Account is disabled No deletion of data
After 6 Months Account is deleted Deletion of data in the Home drive
After 7 Months Account is already deleted Deletion of data in the back-up

Because we use a federated account, deleting or disabling this federated account directly affects the use of the VRE. If the user has no longer have access to the federated account, it means immediately no more access to the VRE.

Shared data and Group drive

If the account is the last account of the study and that account is deleted after 6 months of non-activity, then the Shared data is deleted. The data on the back-up will be deleted after 30 days after the deletion of the Shared VRE data