Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
rdms:workflows:participate [2025/09/25 09:31] – owner to project admin jelterdms:workflows:participate [2026/07/29 12:02] (current) – slight rephrasing ang spellchecking giulio
Line 2: Line 2:
 ====== Project Participation Request ====== ====== Project Participation Request ======
  
-One of the workflows available in the RDMS is the workflow to manage project participation request. This workflow allows you to request participation in a project of which you are not currently a member. If you are admin of a project, it also allows you to manage other user's request for your projects. In the screenshot below, you can see the main page of the workflow. +One of the workflows available in the RDMS is the workflow to manage project participation requests. This workflow can either allow you to request participation in a project you are not currently a member of, or it can allow you to manage other usersparticipation requests to your own projects. In the screenshot below, you can see the main page of the workflow. 
  
 {{ :rdms:workflows:propa1.png?direct&1000 | }} {{ :rdms:workflows:propa1.png?direct&1000 | }}
  
-This workflow has two main roles: +This workflow involves two roles: 
-  * **Project requester**: The person requesting participation in a project. +  * **Requester**: The person requesting participation in a project. 
-  * **Project admin**: The person granting or denying participation in a project.+  * **Project Admin**: The person granting or denying participation in a project.
  
 As shown in the screenshots, **requests in which your role is requester are displayed in blue**, while **requests in which your role is admin are displayed in white**. You cannot modify blue requests once they are submitted, whereas you can accept or decline white requests. As shown in the screenshots, **requests in which your role is requester are displayed in blue**, while **requests in which your role is admin are displayed in white**. You cannot modify blue requests once they are submitted, whereas you can accept or decline white requests.
  
-==== Workflow as Project Admin ====+==== The Project Admin Role ====
  
-As an project admin, you are responsible for reviewing participation requests for your projects. Once a user has submitted a request to participate in a project you own, the RDMS will notify you of that request. The notification is sent via email, but also visible in the web interface. To handle a project participation request, you can navigate to the workflow page shown above and find the request in the "Open" status. If you click on the three vertical dots (as shown in the figure below), you will have the option to either "Accept" or "Decline" the participation request. Once you have made your decision, the request status will change to either "Accepted" or "Declined" (see first figure).+As a Project Admin, you are responsible for reviewing participation requests for your projects. Once a user has submitted a request to participate in a project you own, the RDMS will notify you of that request. The notification is sent via email, but is also visible in the web interface. To handle a project participation request, you can navigate to the workflow page shown above and find the request in the "Open" status. If you click on the three vertical dots (as shown in the figure below), you will have the option to either "Accept" or "Decline" the participation request. Once you have made your decision, the request status will change to either "Accepted" or "Declined" (see first figure).
  
 {{ :rdms:workflows:propa2.png?direct&300 | }} {{ :rdms:workflows:propa2.png?direct&300 | }}
  
-If you accept the request, a new window will open. The RDMS then asks you to define which permission level to grant the requester. If required, you can also assign an additional role to the new project member at this stage (see [[archiving|archiving workflow]] for the roles). Click on "Add User Permission" to confirm your choices and allow access to the project. Both permissions and roles can be adjusted at a later date from the project management tab, should you decide to change them.+If you accept the request, a new window will open. The RDMS then asks you to define which permission level to grant the requester. If required, you can also assign an additional role to the new project member at this stage (see [[archiving|archiving workflow]] for the meaning of each role). Click on "Add User Permission" to confirm your choices and allow access to the project. Both permissions and roles can be adjusted at a later date from the project management tab, should you decide to change them.
  
 {{ :rdms:workflows:propa5.png?direct&400 | }} {{ :rdms:workflows:propa5.png?direct&400 | }}
Line 24: Line 24:
 Once you have made your choice, the RDMS will notify the Requester of the outcome. Once you have made your choice, the RDMS will notify the Requester of the outcome.
  
-To allow renewed submission of a request, you need to close it as this will allow the Requester to submit a new request if necessary. See the figure below for instructions on how to close the request.+To allow renewed submission of a request, you need to close itas this will allow the Requester to submit a new request if necessary. See the figure below for instructions on how to close the request.
  
 {{ :rdms:workflows:propa6.png?direct&300 | }} {{ :rdms:workflows:propa6.png?direct&300 | }}
Line 34: Line 34:
 **Note**: Reopening a request does not undo any decisions already made. So if you reopen a request that you accepted in the past, the request will still have the same access after reopening it. If you want to remove the participant from a project or change their role in the project, you can use the project management function in the [[..:webapp:datamanagement|Data Management Tab]].  **Note**: Reopening a request does not undo any decisions already made. So if you reopen a request that you accepted in the past, the request will still have the same access after reopening it. If you want to remove the participant from a project or change their role in the project, you can use the project management function in the [[..:webapp:datamanagement|Data Management Tab]]. 
  
-==== Workflow as Requester ====+==== The Requester Role ====
  
 To start a project participation request, click on the options wheel icon in the top-right corner and select "Request project participation", as shown in the figure below. To start a project participation request, click on the options wheel icon in the top-right corner and select "Request project participation", as shown in the figure below.
Line 47: Line 47:
  
   * You are already a member of that project.   * You are already a member of that project.
-  * Your previous request was declined, and the project admin has not yet closed it. +  * Your previous request was declined, and the Project Admin has not closed it yet
  
 If you are experiencing this issue, please contact the admin of the project and ask them to either "Reopen"  or "Close" your request. If they close the request, then you can submit a new one. If they reopen the request, it becomes active again, and all you have to do is wait for their decision. If you are experiencing this issue, please contact the admin of the project and ask them to either "Reopen"  or "Close" your request. If they close the request, then you can submit a new one. If they reopen the request, it becomes active again, and all you have to do is wait for their decision.
  
-Once your request has been submitted, the admin of the project will be notified. Your request will appear in blue under the "Open" status column. At this stage, all you need to do is wait for the decision of the project admin. Once they have made a choice, your request will be updated to either "Accepted" or "Declined", and you will be notified both through the web interface and via email. If your request is accepted, then you will gain access to the project with the permissions and role assigned to you by the project admin.+Once your request has been submitted, the admin of the project will be notified. Your request will appear in blue under the "Open" status column. At this stage, all you need to do is wait for the decision of the Project Admin. Once they have made a choice, your request will be updated to either "Accepted" or "Declined", and you will be notified both through the web interface and via email. If your request is accepted, then you will gain access to the project with the permissions and role assigned to you by the Project Admin. Please refer to the previous screenshots for a graphical representation of your request.