Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
vre:initializing [2026/07/23 09:13] – margueritevre:initializing [2026/08/26 08:48] (current) – marguerite
Line 8: Line 8:
 ===== Intake ===== ===== Intake =====
  
-During the intake we will discuss whether the VRE is the right solution for this research project and what facilities -like storage, applications and computational power- is needed. Also we will discuss on how the data transfer to the VRE can be arranged.+During the intake we will discuss whether the VRE is the right solution for this research project and what facilities -like storage, applications and computational power- is needed. Also we will discuss on how the data transfer to and from the VRE can be arranged. If the data set for the project is already complete, then we need to make arrangements on uploading the data. For after the project, we must discuss on what to do with the data. It could be an option to archive the data in the [[https://wiki.hpc.rug.nl/rdms/start|RDMS]]. 
  
 The other information that we need for creating the VRE, like the start date and end date, the project code for finance and the names of the researchers can be already filled in in the application form. The other information that we need for creating the VRE, like the start date and end date, the project code for finance and the names of the researchers can be already filled in in the application form.
Line 21: Line 21:
 ===== How we close a VRE ===== ===== How we close a VRE =====
  
-**Personal data and Home drive**+==== Personal data and Home drive ==== 
 ^ No Activity      ^ Account      ^ Data          ^ ^ No Activity      ^ Account      ^ Data          ^
 | After 3 Months    | Account is disabled     | No deletion of data        | | After 3 Months    | Account is disabled     | No deletion of data        |
Line 29: Line 30:
 Because we use a federated account, deleting or disabling this federated account directly affects the use of the VRE. If the user has no longer have access to the federated account, it means immediately no more access to the VRE.  Because we use a federated account, deleting or disabling this federated account directly affects the use of the VRE. If the user has no longer have access to the federated account, it means immediately no more access to the VRE. 
  
-**Shared data and Group drive**+==== Shared data and Group drive ==== 
  
 If the account is the last account of the study and that account is deleted after 6 months of non-activity, then the Shared data is deleted. The data on the back-up will be deleted after 30 days after the deletion of the Shared VRE data If the account is the last account of the study and that account is deleted after 6 months of non-activity, then the Shared data is deleted. The data on the back-up will be deleted after 30 days after the deletion of the Shared VRE data